Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Tuesday, August 1, 2017
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


BCY-La Filipina, RJ Stars/NPBC
dominate trio duckpin tournament

BCY-La Filipina Trading emerged as champion in the men's division while multi-titled RJ Stars/NPBC reigned in the women's side of the 12 th Bowlers Club of Bacolod City Open Trio Duckpin Bowling Tournament 2017 at the Negros Super Lanes in Bacolod City.

Seeded No.2 after the elimination phase, the BCY Team headed by Bobby Yap, crushed the twice-to-beat and top qualifier KMH Team of Sonny Elegado in the their first encounter in the finals, 333-300, and followed it up with 323-305 victory in the rubber match to grab the title.

Reymund Lopez carried the scoring cudgels for the champion squad with 111, while Lyndon Reyes and NonoyHulguin contributed 107 and 105. Michael Corral top scored for the losing KMH with 114.

The other members of BCY Team were IsokVillarosa, Rodney Bojos, and Cyril Mayordomo.

With Corral in the KMH lined up were Raymund Galvan, Toto Flores, Essho Garcia, Peter Deocadez, James Henry Toga and JovalDamasco.

Yap group earned the opportunity to challenge the top qualifier by outscoring Silverado/ASSFBI of Cecil Ramon Silverio in the semis, 341-335.

PLS Electronz of Pat Mendoza settled for third after absorbing defeat in the hands of Silverado in the quarterfinals, 289-303.

In the women's category, RJ Stars stopped D'Explorer in the deciding contest, 309-286 for the tournament's crown.

Jing2 Lamis and Mae Memoracion struck 116 points each to lead the winning team in scoring, while Ronela Cordero toppled 111 for the losing squad.

In the NPBC lined up were team captain Rowena Juarez, May Santia-on, Anne Mijares and Jane Trocio, while the Explorer bowlers were Cordero, Cheryl Ramos and Ann Dayot.

D'Exploreroutclassed the twice-to-beat RJ Stars in the first game, 341-287 for the rubber match.

Seeded No.2 in the finals, Explorer downed Dayle in the semi-finals, 315-298 for the right to face NPBC in the championship.

For their part, Dayle ripped ON-BACIBA in the quarterfinal match,305-296.

The top three winners in the men's consolation contest were Davies I, Tough Trucks/NPBC and Davies 2,while the D'Explorer 2 won in the distaff side.

KMH recorded the team's highest single and triple with 446 and 1,128 pin falls in the men's corner, as Dayle and Rj Stars in the women's department with 362 and 999.

The tournament's individual record holders were Raymund Galvan (KMH) in highest pinning with 96, Michael Corral (KMH) in single and triple with 181 and 419 in the men's division; Cheryl Ramos (Explorer) in the women's pinning with 94, Carmen Romales (Dayle) and Mae Memoracion (NPBC) in single and triple with 166 and 387 pin falls, apiece.

Meanwhile, the 13 th BCBC Open Trio Bowling Tournament will unfold, Aug.3 at the same venue.*HLG


back to top


Button Home United, Ceres key players eager for AFC Cup ASEAN final
Button Sprint 4t Enduro prevails in game 1 vs. Rev-X Pantra
Button BCY-La Filipina, RJ Stars/NPBC dominate trio duckpin tournament
Button LopTTA wins runner up honors in Iloilo tourney