Daily Star logoTop Stories

Bacolod City, Philippines Thursday, May 17, 2018
Front Page
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events

More poll winners named


Comelec Commissioner Rowena Guanzon yesterday said that with the barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan elections over, winning and losing candidates should keep their cool and refrain from settling their differences through violence.

The advice came as more winning barangay captains in Negros Occidental were named yesterday.

Guanzon said that in politics there will always be winners and losers. “Those who lost by a small margin can file election protests or keep on doing good works in their barangays and run again next time,” she said.

“To the winners, be gracious to those who lost. Do not be vengeful, we are in a democracy where citizens are free to run for office,” Guanzon added.

Negros Occidental Vice Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson said “Whatever the outcome of the election is, we should accept it.

“I have not heard of any protest coming, so we can say that the elections went very well. Everyone was free to vote and they’ve made their decision so we call on these barangay officials, especially from the SK (Sangguniang Kabataan), to attend the seminar that the Department of Interior and Local Government will sponsor before they take their oath”.

Lacson said he hopes the newly elected officials contribute to the upliftment of their respective communities.


Meanwhile, the winning barangay captains in Hinobaan town are Warlito Magaso – Damutan, Gelbert Cordova – Talacagay, Johnny Ray Reliquias – Bacuyangan, Florintino Capangpangan – San Rafael, Letecia Estrao – Brgy 1 Poblacion, Theodore Tubilleja – Brgy Poblacion II, Arnold Gallarda – Alim, Ellias Manlangit – Asia, Anecito Valdigamo – Bulwangan, Harly Sarino – Daug, Oscar Daclan – Culipapa and Rene Malunes – Sanke.


The winning barangay captains in Victorias City are Edna Durana – Brgy 1, Richard Julius Sablan - Brgy 2, Roy Flores - Brgy 3, Marites Lucha- Brgy 4, Betol Undar - Brgy 5, Rolando Millan- Brgy 6, Ana Mae Claro - Brgy 6A, Cleofy Buatag - Brgy 7,

Jose Murillo - Brgy 8, Juvy Pepello- Brgy 9, Milagros Osano - Brgy 10, Rogrelio Barnuevo- Brgy 11, Gary Bacay- Brgy 12, Eric Alcobilla- Brgy 13, Max Bensing - Brgy 14, Mark Dominic Aboyo- Brgy 15 Tumimbang – Brgy 15A, Rogelio Lapating Jr. - Brgy 16, Caluyo- Brgy 16A, Eduardo Paran - Brgy 17, Taboy Latosa - Brgy18, Regie Aboyo- Brgy 18A, Carlito Gulmatico – Brgy 19, Hugo Tirambulo – Brgy 20 and Edwin Ditching - Brgy 21.*CPG


back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
Top Stories
ButtonAmerican shot dead
ButtonDuterte expected Sunday
ButtonMore poll winners named
ButtonVice guv gets SWAT help
Button2 governors seek league support on federal state
ButtonCOMELEC says: Cash cards out, don’t panic
ButtonRaps vs. 4 brgy captains have no legal basis: dad
ButtonRamadan starts
Button‘2018 BSKE worst ever’
ButtonCity Hall employees to get pay increases
ButtonFemale inmates turn to beadwork