Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Thursday, January 4, 2018
Front Page
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


Gubaton, Fadol lead winners in
Gov's Cup table tennis tilt

John Paul Gubaton beat Danilo Abonales in the finals to rule the Men's Open competition while current Rank 2 player and national team member Rosejean Fadol dethroned 2016 champion Micah Tanate in the women's division of the 3 rd Governor's Cup Table Tennis Championship held Dec. 27-29 at SM City Bacolod.

John Michael Castro settled for the second runner-up honors to complete the top three winners in the men's open category while Ann Gella Borbon managed to make the necessary adjustments in her game to outplay Sherly May Otanes and placed third in the women's open department.

Co-sponsored by the Lopue's Table Tennis Association (LOPTTA) headed by its president Leonito “Diotay” Lopuez and SM City Bacolod, the three-day competition drew participation from almost 200 table tennis players from Manila, Tacloban, Antique, Iloilo, Guimaras, and different parts of the Negros Island.

The event was highlighted by the presence of Ian Lariba, the first table tennis player to represent the Philippines in the Olympics in Brazil in 2016.

In the 13& Under Boy's event, Roan Vasquez prevailed over Dirk Nikhole Atilano in the finals to win the championship, while Matthew Metoda finished second runner-up.

Kylie Sophia Villanueva was the champion in the 13 and Under Girl's category after getting past Glieza Cordova in the finals as Bliss Suarez settled for third place.

In Men's Executive, Peter Lim halted Richie Sausa's winning streak in the finals to capture the title as Robert Arteche secured the second-runner up honors.

On the other hand, Maricris Catalan swept all her opponents to bring home the gold medal in Women's Executive A category as Ruby Ann Longno placed second and Gea Kristine Delos Reyes, third..

In Women's Executive B, Corazon Boyero executed spectacular rallied to overcome Marichu Claver in the finals and win the championship while Maria Lee Trasporto settled for the bronze medal.

After his third place finish in the Men's Executive event, Robert Arteche bounced back and beat Peter Lim in the Veterans category to get his gold medal as Steven Rong placed as second runner-up.

Joining the winners during the awarding rites was LOPTTA president Lopue who expressed his appreciation to the participants who joined the third edition of the Governor's Cup.

Lopue is optimistic that that the 4 th Governor's Cup this year will surpass the number of table tennis players who competed in 2017.*


back to top


Button Gubaton, Fadol lead winners in Gov's Cup table tennis tilt
Button Ceres-La Salle to defend title in 2 nd Sagay football tourney