Daily Star logoTop Stories

Bacolod City, Philippines Monday, October 17, 2016
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


3 from STAR,
14 others NPC, Rotary awardees

The Negros Press Club recognized 17 broadcasters and journalists, including three from the Visayan DAILY STAR, during the 3 rd Negros Press Club Media Excellence and Rotary Club of Bacolod East Media Lifetime Achievement Awards Night at the Social Hall of the Provincial Capitol in Bacolod City, Saturday.

Recipients of the first presidential citation were Ninfa Leonardia, editor-in-chief and president of the Visayan DAILY STAR; Pert Toga, publisher of the Negros Daily Bulletin, and Vic Mercado of the Mercado Publiko program over DYRL.

Recipients the NPC Media Excellence Award were Nida Buenafe and Chrysee Samillano of the Visayan DAILY STAR, Angelo Angolo and Barbara Mijares of ABS-CBN, Carla Cañet of Sun Star- Bacolod, Juan Elmer Ubaldo of DYEZ Aksyon Radyo-Bacolod, and Ma. Chona Gociaoco of DYAF Radyo Veritas, while a posthumous award was presented to the family of the late Charlie Pabular of DYEZ Aksyon Radyo - Bacolod.

The Rotary Club of Bacolod East also recognized six media practitioners as Life Media Achievement awardees in line with its public image project with the Negros Press Club, which gained recognition from Rotary International during its District Conference in Zamboanga City last year.

Recognized for their contribution in the fulfillment of the goals and mission of responsible media practice, were Jazelda De Jesus–Madrigal of Bombo Radyo-Bacolod; Sammy Nuarbe - DYRL Radyo Pilipino (Abyan Radyo); Cyrus Garde - Negros Daily Bulletin and Panay News – Bacolod; George Liza, NPC past president and Sports Communicators Organization of the Philippines (SCOOP); Ray Carmona - DYRL Radyo Pilipino (Abyan Radyo) and Nicanor Mariño - RMN DYHB.

NPC president Teresa Ellera said the NPC Media Excellence Awards and the RCBE Media Lifetime Achievement Awards are given to deserving members of the organization who have shown exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of journalism, print broadcast, and TV.

Ellera also said they were giving the presidential citation award ?for the first time in the history of the NPC to three distinguished members of the club, who have exceeded the challenges and expectations of highly remarkable journalists and who serve as media icons in the community. ?

“This year's theme “Celebrating Excellence: Rising up to the Challenge of Community Journalism in the Modern Times”, fittingly depicts the need for us to stand and work stronger together so that we may be able to rise above the challenges that the media industry is facing today, including the threat of social media in overtaking us as a faster medium of information,” she said.

Negros Occidental Gov. Alfredo Marañon Jr., who was represented by executive assistant, Eric Loretizo, congratulated all the awardees “who were recognized for having shown excellence in the field of journalism, and who have embodied the true essence of a media person who worked with integrity, dedication and commitment.”

“Let this event be an inspiration for many others among you to do better in your profession, not just to be given any award but to champion the cause of the media industry for the dissemination of fair, honest, accurate and truthful information crucial to our nation,” Marañon added.

RCBE District 3850 Governor-elect Enigardo Legislador, representing District Governor Ronnie Gabalda, were present to show Rotary's support for the endeavor conceptualized by past Rotary East president Elsie Jolingan when she served as chairperson of the Rotary Club of Bacolod East Public Image Committee in 2014.

In his message, Legislador thanked the media for dedicating their lives and for making a commitment to make the public well-informed.

“You have struggled, you have persevered, and you made it in serving the media profession for several decades now. We salute you for that. For those who are not recipients of the award, I urge you to work harder, stay a little while, be more observant and follow the footsteps of the people whom we accorded the honor this year,” he said.

Also present were Bacolod Rep. Greg Gasataya, Councilor Ana Marie Palermo, City Administrator John Orola, San Sebastian Cathedral rector Fr. Felix Pasquin and Fr. Aniceto Buenafe.*





back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Negros Oriental | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
Top Stories
Button City containing outbreak
Button 3 from STAR, 14 others NPC, Rotary awardees
Button Escamilla crowned MQ 2016
Button CSC upholds Carbon ruling
Button Negros SP to join call to retain NIR
Button Seaman, companion drown
Button Bacolod flights cancelled