Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Friday, July 29, 2016
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


Trekker takes
No. 1 spot in 35-Up

REV-X Trekker secured the top spot in Fil-Sino Petron Cup 35 and above category after routing Sprint 4T Racer, 104-86, played at Tay Tung High School Po Hang Gym.

In the other game, Sprint 4t Enduro prevailed over an undermanned REV-X HD 40, 114-104.

REV-X Trekker improved to 6-1, Racer finished the elimination round at 4-3, Enduro improved to 5-2 and HD40 dropped to 1-6.

Sprint 4T Racer took the lead in the opening quarter, 29-24, behind Arvin Gustilo and Glin Ortaliz s combined 17-point output even as Randell Uy knocked down 10 points for Trekker.

But the Racer lead fizzled in the second canto as Tubby Villanueva and Arnol Laureño delivered 9 and 7 points respectively to grab the lead for Trekker at halftime, 55-48.

Uy added 10 more points and Villanueva hit scored five points to extend the lead to 80-66 going to the final quarter.

Mark Yee and Gustilo combined for 13 points for Racer but Trekker answered the uprising with an Errol Su and Villanueva combined f16-point blask to seal the win.

Uy had a game-high 23 points while Villanueva added 21, Laureño shot 13, Charlton Ong made 12 points and Chris Lim produced 8.

Gustilo and Yee finished with 18 points apiece for the losing team while Ortaliz tallies 15, Leo Bat-Og had 11 points, Rey pandoro with 10 points and Kieron Tan had 8 points.

In the curtain raiser, Sprint 4t Enduro raced to a 64-49 lead at the break as Joseph Oxinio, Xerxes Jaranilla and Michael Ang scored 12 points each, while Kenneth Ymalay added three triples. John Montemayor and Richard Co had 20 and 17 points respectively for REV_X HD40.

An 81-all third quarter deadlock made the game interesting as Co scored 14 points for HD40 and teammates Biboy Uysang and Montemayor with 8 points each.

HD40 temporarily grabbed a 2-point lead early in the fourth quarrter but Enduro responded with a 10-0 run anchored on Jaranilla and Ymalay.

Jaranilla paced Enduro with 24 points, Oxinio and Ymalay finished with 20 points apiece, Michael Ang drilled 15, Eugene Tsai put in 13 points and Tabanao finished with 10 points.

Co sizzled for 36 points for the losing team as Montemayor added 32, Biboy Uysang dropped 22 points and Glenn Tan shot 10 points.*


back to top


Button Espina ready to conquer Sparta race
Button Trekker takes No. 1 spot in 35-Up