Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Thursday, July 28, 2016
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


BCY/Rapha I survives KMH
to capture Bowlers Club title

BCY/Rapha I Team made use of its twice-to-beat advantage to survive the threat from KMH Fyr Fyter to capture the championship in the men’s division of 5th Bowlers Club Open Trio Bowling Tournament 2016 at the Negros Super Lanes and Entertainment Center in Bacolod City.

In the women’s department, RJ Stars/NPBC defeated ON-BACIBA to successfully defend the crown they won last year.

With their twice-to-beat advantage after emerging on top in the elimination round, BCY/Rapha I managed to bounce back after losing to Sonny Elegado’s KMH Fyr Fyter in their first encounter, 328-308.

The Bobby Yap-managed BCY/Rapha 1 rose from the grave in the second game with a crushing 315-287 triumph to claim the top prize.

Tournament’s master bowler Cyril Mayordomo hauled 114 points, while Albert “Nonoy” Hulguin and Rodney Bojos contributed 110 and 96 points respectively for the champion squad. Completing the BCY trio was Rey Bala-an.

No. 3 team KMH Fyr Fyter earned the opportunity to challenge Rapha I in the finals but beating No. 4 TNT/Roa's Lechon, 298-266, and No.2 seed Davies 1, 318-295, in the up-the-ladder system.

KMH Alpha Ones and BCY/Rapha 2 ruled the consolation game contest among the non-winning entries.

In the distaff, RJ Stars defeated ON-BACIBA of Corazon Romero in the finals,  295-262. Master bowler Noralyn Lamis scored 106, Sharon Sioson made 96, and Mae Memoracion rolled 93 for the winning team.

The other members of RJ Stars were team captain Rowena Juarez and Anna Mijares.  D'Explorer headed by Dary Casiano finished second runner-up.

Highest team single awards were given to BCY/Rapha 1 with 380 and RJ Stars with 364, while for team triples went to KMH Fyr Fyter with 1,043 and RJ Stars in the distaff side with 996.

Cash prizes and trophies were given to the winners in the men's top 4 teams and ladies' top 3 squads, as well as, the highest individual and team awards for both divisions.
The event was organized by tournament chairman Edgar Jerez with members Cecil Silverio,  Rowena Juarez, and Elorde Magbanua.

Meanwhile, the 6th Edition of the BCBC Open Trio Bowling Spectacle will unwraps tonight starting at 6 p.m.*HLG


back to top


ButtonFil-Power, Chicken Deli post 2nd victory
ButtonBCY/Rapha I survives KMH to capture Bowlers Club title
ButtonFormer national athlete Abaniel reigns in women's world boxing