Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Tuesday, July 26, 2016
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


City High, NOHS bowlers
split honors in Triangular tilt

          Bacolod City High School Class ’74 reigned in the premiere division, while Negros Occidental High School Batch ’97 and NOHS Batch ‘2000-Up emerged as champion in their respective bracket as the 7th Triangular Bowl Fest For Unity 2016 ended at the Super Lanes of the Goldenfield Commercial Complex in Bacolod City.

          The BCHS bowlers composed of Norman Pineda, Carmen Romales, Juliet Regollo, Ric Diocares, Hector Yulo, Mike Udasco and Elizabeth Liza beat twice the NOHS Class ’71/73/74 Combined in the final round with a 530-515 tally in the deciding match to grab this year’s overall title in Class A category.

          BCHS ’74 won the same title in 2013.

          Carrying the colors for the losing squad were Romel Jover, Leah Uy, Felipe Boy Romero Jr., Hernand Garciniego, Joe De Leon, Ed Vivas, Grace Zollinger and Jessie Torres.

          Domingo Lacson National High School Class ’75, headed by Rowena Juarez, settled for second runner-up after absorbing defeat in the hands of BCHS ’74 in the semi-final, 511-525.

          Third and fourth runners-up were NOHS Batch ’99 and BCNHS Class ’80.

          In the battle for the title in Bracket B, the Karl Barbosa-led NOHS Batch ’97 overpowered BCHS Class ’72 led by Oscar Clenen in the final round, 503-477, to claim the top prize.

          The other members of the champion team were Dannie Uguil, Jecky Sola, Francis Vergara, Jojo Baylon and Josel Balontong, while BCHS ’72 were represented by Mundo Matillano, Boboy Villaflor, Lea Javier, and Paz “Daya” Magallanes.

          NOHS Batch ’94 placed second runner-up, while NOHS Class ’85 and BCNHS C’81were third and fourth, respectively.

          The younger NOHS Batch ‘2000-up ruled Category C by crushing the older  BCNHS Class ’84 in the championship round, 493-462.

          Carrying the colors for the winning squad were Galvan brothers Rommel, Raymund and Ronielo, Kenny De Los Santos. Madz dayap, Rovie Mae Libo-on, Kristine Barrera, Thea Gene De Oca, Ariel Fantillan and Jay Baldonado.

          Jane Trocio, Ely Mercado, Jose Sansing, Arnold Blance and Agustin Mission played for BCNHS ’84.*HLG

back to top


Button Chu tallies 38 pts as Rallye escapes Race in double OT
ButtonNegrense runner Espina to join Spartathlon Race
ButtonCity High, NOHS bowlers split honors in Triangular tilt