Daily Star logoTop Stories

Bacolod City, Philippines Thursday, July 14, 2016
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


28 committee
chairpersons named

The 28 mandatory and standing committees of the Negros Occidental Sangguniang Panlalawigan have been equally distributed to old and new board members, with Vice Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson given authority yesterday by the SP to designate the chairpersons.

Board Member Salvador Escalante retained his chairmanship of the committee on Budget, Finance, Ways and Means. He was also named chairman of the SP committee on Human Resource.

Board Member Alain Gatuslao also retained his chairmanship of the committee on Laws, Rules and Ordinances and also chairs the Cooperative committee.

Returning Board Member Manuel Frederick Ko got the chairmanship of the committees on Energy, Public Utilities and Transportation, and Games and Amusement.

Board Member Jose Maria Alonso, former mayor of Pontevedra, chairs the committees on Labor and Employment and Public Works, Housing and Land Use.

The chairmanship of the committee on Disaster Preparedness, that used to be chaired by Board Member Pedro Zayco, is now headed by Board Member Samson Mirhan, former vice mayor of Cadiz City, who was also designated chairman of the Committee on Oversight.

The committee on Education will still be chaired by Zayco, and also the committee on Information and Communications Technology.

Board Member Renato Malabor Jr. chairs the committees on Human Rights, and Youth and Sports Development. He is the son of slain Board Member Renato Malabor.

Board Member Antonio Encarguez, who was absent yesterday, got the chairmanship of the committees on Senior Citizens, Persons with Disabilities and are Indigenous, as well as on Investments and Promotions. He was reported to be sick and being treated in a hospital.

Neophyte Board Member David Albert Lacson was designated as chairperson of the committees on Peace and Order, as well as Good Government and Public Accountability. He was the mayor of EB Magalona for nine years.

Board Member Rommel Debulgado chairs the committees on Internal Ethics, Privileges and Discipline, and Environmental Protection.

Board Member Vincent Marie Roa, who represents the Philippine Councilors League-Negros Occidental chapter, was also named chairman of the committees on International Relations , History, Arts and Culture.

Board Member Annabelle Bermudo, who is represents the Liga ng mga Barangay, chairs the committees on Barangay Affairs, and Government Enterprise and Privatization.

Board Member Victor Javellana remains chairman of the SP committee on Food and Agriculture, and was also designated chairperson of the committee on Tourism, Trade, Industry and Commerce.

Helen Zafra, who is now on her last term as board member, chairs the committees on Health and Social Services, and on Women and Family Welfare.

During its inaugural session, the SP passed a resolution adopting its Internal Rules of Procedures.*GPB





back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Negros Oriental | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
Top Stories
Button Guv sets dev't direction, calls for local rehab plan
Button Lacson pledges critical collaboration
Button SP repeals controversial tax
Button Government center's name restored
Button 28 committee chairpersons named
Button Talisaynon linked to drugs killed
Button Mayor urges city officials: undergo tests
Button ‘COA team violated constitutional rights'
Button Protestors disrupt SOPA