Daily Star logoTop Stories

Bacolod City, Philippines Friday, July 8, 2016
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


Sanggunian names
committee chairmen

The Bacolod Sangguniang Panlungsod passed an omnibus resolution designating all 13 councilors to a committee and also elected three-termer Councilor Caesar Distrito as floor leader during its inaugural session yesterday.

Distrito said that since they belong to the majority (Grupo Progreso), traditionally it is the majority that picks the floor leader. A floor leader is just an officer of the SP who will take over as presiding officer temporarily in the absence of the vice mayor.

He said they debated on the internal rules and added some provisions for members of the council to respect the deadline for submission of items to the SP, except for urgent matters that have to be accommodated.

They also adopted the old internal rules where the chairman of the committee appoints his vice chairman so they can work together. And for purposes of transparency and check and balance, the members should come from the other party, he said.

The SP also made minor changes before finalizing the assignment of committee chairmanship.

Councilor Cano Tan was designated chairman of the Committee on Police, Security, Jail Management and Illegal Drugs, and the Committee on Cooperatives and Livelihood program.

Distrito – Committee on Environment and Appropriation and Finance; Committee Laws and Ordinances, and Committee on Urban Development.

Councilor Cindy Rojas – Committee on Environment and Ecology; Committee on Family and Child care development; and Committee on Women and Gender.

Councilor Renecito Novero – Committee on Education; and Committee on Urban Poor, Housing and Resettlement.

Councilor Em Ang – Committee on Health and Sanitation; Tourism and Local, National and International Cooperation; Committee on Social Services and Development.

Councilor Elmer Sy – Committee on Public Works, and Committee on Fire, Natural Disasters and Calamities.

Councilor Dindo Ramos – Committee on Youth, SK Affairs and Spots Development; Committee on Senior Citizens and Veterans Affairs, Committee on Communications and Energy, and Committee on Transportation and Traffic.

Councilor Bartolome Orola – Committee on Markets and Slaughterhouse, and Committee on Fisheries and Aquatic Resources.

Councilor Ana Marie Palermo – Committee on Human Rights and Committee on Labor, Management Relations and Overseas Workers.

Councilor Wilson Gamboa Jr. – Committee on History, Culture and Arts; and Committee on Ways and Means.

Councilor Claudio Puentevella – Committee on Government Assets, and Committee on Human Resource Development.

Councilor Sonya Verdeflor – Committee on Trade, Commerce and Industry, and Committee on Agriculture and Agrarian Concerns.

Councilor Noli Villarosa – Committee on Barangay Affairs.

Gamboa said that since they belong to the minority (Partido MKK), they have to contend with whatever committee they will be given by the majority.

However, he is happy that the chairman of the committee on Transportation has agreed to his request to be the vice chairman, he said.

Meanwhile, Distrito said he does not know why Puentevella and Villarosa were not present at their first session yesterday.

Both councilors, and Gamboa did not also attend the inauguration of the new set of city officials Wednesday.

Gamboa said that a week before the inauguration, he had committed to attend the briefing of the national board of officers of the Philippine Councilor's League, where he is vice chairman for the Visayas.

Secondly, their party has a pending petition for recount filed in the local court (against Mayor Evelio Leonardia and Vice Mayor El Cid Familiaran), so he opted not to attend, he said.*CGS



back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Negros Oriental | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
Top Stories
Button No.1 ‘drug supplier' in Silay surrenders
Button PNP readies list of cops linked to drugs
Button Bacolod, Negros surrenderees hit 1,074
Button Drilon seeks pay hike for gov't workers
Button SP to act on tax code repeal
Button Sanggunian names committee chairmen
Button NBI reviewing performance of NIR personnel, Lavin says