Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Wednesday, February 24, 2016
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


Ilonggos seafarers rule
44th Paraw Regatta race

Ilonggo seafarers proved their dominance when they bagged the championship crown of two out of the three categories of the 30-kilometer distance race among double-outrigger boats during Sunday's main event of the 44th Paraw Regatta Festival.

The main sailing event gathered 60 entries from as far as Boracay Island. The sailing event was divided into three categories to include category A for sailboats with a waterline length of 16 feet and below, category B for those with hulls measuring 16.1 feet up to 22 feet and category C for hulls that measure 22.1 feet up to 29 feet.

Mitch Angels owned by Michael Anthony Tangub of Poblacion, Tigbauan, Iloilo landed on the first spot followed by Arlyn owned by Orlando Demetillo and LD owned by Winnie Demetillo for the second and third places, respectively. The Demitillo's are both from Camangay, Leganes.

Category B was won by 2 Angels owned by Jayde Pauchano Sr from Brgy. Camangay, Leganes; second place was Jofman owned by Nicanor Gad of Malay, Aklan and third place was RJ and RB owned by Rogelio Gareza of Guimbal, Iloilo.

Entries from Malay Aklan dominated Category C with BORALEE owned by Reynaldo Sejane and Dideng by Francisco Aguirre, getting the first and third places, respectively. The second place was won by Cheryl, the entry of Federico Tantiado from Tigbauan, Iloilo.

The annual sailing event showcases the maneuvering skills of the crew as they seek for a perfect wind to bring their sailboats to pass by seven markers starting off in front of the Tatoy's Manokan and Seafood Restaurant in Arevalo district to Buenavista and Jordan points in Guimaras and back to Arevalo.*PNA


back to top


Button Ceres FC, Selangor FA ready for tough game
Button Boxers off to US camp
Button AACI Trading upsets Royal Star to improve quarterfinal chances
Button Ilonggos seafarers rule 44th Paraw Regatta race