Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Monday, April 6, 2015
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


Team Ballesteros captures
2015 YBAC championship

Peewee Demonteverde and Marlon Caballero propelled Jun Ballesteros' squad to a 103-82 win against Team Lapore to capture the title of the 2015 Your Basketball Athletic Club Inter-Color Tournament played at the STI-West Negros University gym, a press release from YBAC said.

Down by four points at the end of the first half, 38-34, Demonteverde delivered 21 points in the third canto, including four triples, as Jojo Chua added six more points as Team Ballesteros started to pull away.

Earlier, Pao Pao Lim and Kokoy Pendon combined for 15 points for Team Lapore in the second quarter to keep the game interesting but the Ballesteros side managed to neutralize them in the next quarter to keep the lead at 67-53 going into the payoff period.

In the fourth quarter, Caballero fired 15 points to anchor his team's last quarter assault as Jayson Olivar led Team Lapore's with 12 markers while Pendon and Lim hit 7 and 6 points, respectively.

Despite scoring a measly two points in the championship game, tournament's Most Valuable Player Joenel Anico sizzled in the defense department with his all-around defensive stops on Lapore's scorers like Pendon, Gherson Sipe and Rudy Nonato.

Backstopping Demonteverde in the offense for the champion Ballesteros team was Caballero, who finished with 21 points, while Randy Pundadera added 10, Chua and Oscar Aquino hit 8 points each, Nathaniel Bacaron shot 6 points, Abraham Magay, Rolly Buenaflor and Aurilio Aurino scored 4 points apiece, Ballesteros, Ricks Ramos and Art Memoria added 2 points each.

Pendon paced Lapore's team with 17 points as Lim added 16 points, Olivar chipped in 14, Nonato and Christopher Ong delivered 6 markers each. Mayo Salazar alongside Rosales, Sipe and Pastor James Jaurda nailed 4 points apiece as Cerilo Soquiña added 3 points while Reymart Pandanduyan and Ritchie Yanson scored 2 points each.*


back to top


Button Manila paddlers rule Lopue's Open
Button Team Ballesteros captures 2015 YBAC championship
Button Dinagyawan cagefest kicks off inVillamonte