Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Monday, April 6, 2015
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events


Manila paddlers rule
Lopue's Open

Hua Ching-LJS SAN BEDA and Table Tennis Association for National Development (TATAND) captured the championship in the men and women's team event while host Lopue's Tablte Tennis Association settled for the first runner-up honors in both events of the 7th Lopue's Openg Table Tennis Championship held March 27-29 at the LopTTA Center in Bacolod City, a press release from the organizers said.

The Hua Ching team, composed of Richard Gonzales, Jann Marie Nayre and Raymond Manlapaz beat LopTTA B of Rodel Valle, John Paul Gubaton, Adolfo Bazar and Angel Cuenca Jr. in the final, 3-1, to bag the crown in men's team event.

LopTTA A, composed of Isaias Seronio, Celjun Ortalla and Mark Francis Jimenez grabbed the second runner-up place after stopping team METTA A of Ting ledesma, Johan Remaneses and Jethro Gapas, 3-1, in the top four double elimination. METTA A finished third runner-up, the press release said.

In the women's team event, the TATAND team of Yanyan Lariba, Sandra Bazar and Jannah Romero registered a 4-peat after winning against team LopTTA A of Sedrina Balatbat, Marell Lagunday and Emy Rose Dael in the final, 2-1.

WVPRISAA team composed of Ciara Magsino and Sheryl Otanez defeated Amity Table Tennis Association team (ATTA) of Ayra Malabayabas, Joma Sibal and Lusha Maderal, 2-0, to take home in the second runner-up honors. ATTA secured the third runner-up spot.

The tournament, organized by LopTTA president Leonito "Diotay" Lopue, is considered as one of the prestigious table tennis tournament in the country, the press release said.

This year, the competition attracted a total of 30 teams comprising of around 100 top table tennis athletes in the country today.*



back to top


Button Manila paddlers rule Lopue's Open
Button Team Ballesteros captures 2015 YBAC championship
Button Dinagyawan cagefest kicks off inVillamonte