Daily Star logoNegros Oriental
Dumaguete City, PhilippinesTuesday, October 9, 2012
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads
Four-cornered fight
for governor looms


The gubernatorial race in the May 13, 2013 elections in Negros Oriental will be contested by the incumbent governor, a former Cabinet secretary, an incumbent House representative, and a businessman.

Records of the Provincial Commission on Elections how that Gov. Roel Ragay Degamo (PDP-Laban), Rep. Jocelyn Sy Limkaichong of the first district (Liberal Party), former Finance Secretary Margarito Bustaliño Teves (NPC) and Samuel Torres Balbuena (Independent), have filed their certificates of candidacy for governor of Negros Oriental.

There are also three candidates for vice governor: re-electionist Apolinario Arnaiz Jr. (NPC), Edward Mark Lopez Macias (LP), and Henry Alegria Sojor (PDP-Laban).

Candidates for the House of Representatives for the first district are, Lowell Anfone Andaya (Independent), Manuel Mariño Iway (LP), former Rep. Jerome Villegas Paras (NPC) and Danilo Casipong Roble (Independent); Raul Silorio Aniñon (Independent), re-electionist Rep. George Planto Arnaiz (NPC) and Bais City Mayor Karen Fabugais Villanueva (LP), for the second district; and Marcelo Galicano Adanza (LP), and incumbent Rep. Henry Pryde Alipit Teves (NPC), for the third district, COMELEC records show.

Sangguniang Panlalawigan aspirants are Amor Anfone Baldado, Napoleon Neri Camero and Joselito John Marie Villegas Paras, all of the NP; Liland Zoila Bustamante Estacion, Jessica Jane Villanueva Koppin and Georgita Fabugais Martinez of LP, and Rouie David Dayucos delos Santos as Independent, in the first district;

Ely Cabio Cabanag, Elan Narciso Cadayday, Agustin Miguel Araneta Perdices and Orlando Veloso Remollo, LP; Rommel Logronio Erames, Mariant Escaño-Villegas, Erwin Michael Lopez Macias, and Melliemoore Maicom Saycon, NPC; Miguel Angel Diaz Teves, Arturo Valencia Umbac, and Fritzie Daryl Lumjod Zanoria of the PDP Laban slate; and Joinny Donato Cahilog as Independent, for the second district; and

Telesforo Yasay Diao Jr., Teopisto Ray Lajato Yap III and Clayborne Clyde Lim of LP; Edmund Ferraren Dy, Peve Obañana Ligan and Dexter Bendijo Villamor of NPC; and Edita Maria Aranda Vera and Erwin Bernus Vergara of PDP Laban, in the third district.

Provincial elections supervisor Eddie Aba had said earlier that a total of 277 elective positions are up for grabs in next year’s polls, and these are for governor, vice governor, 10 Sangguniang Panlalawigan Board members, 3 House of Representatives, 25 city and town mayors, 25 city and town vice mayors, and 212 councilors.*JFP

back to top

Negros Oriental
ButtonFour-cornered fight for governor looms
ButtonProbe on involvement of councilor in ‘hot meat’ incident ordered
2-day agri fair set
Napolcom invalidates PNP exam results