Daily Star logoTop Stories
Bacolod City, PhilippinesTuesday, February 21, 2012
Front Page
Negros Oriental
Star Business
Police Beat
Star Life
People & Events
Classified Ads

SOJ piano contest
winners named

The ninth memory and sight-reading piano contest was held recently at the SOJ Music Studio in Bacolod City and trophies were awarded to the first to fourth place winners in the elementary A to F and intermediate A to D categories, a press release from organizers said.

The winners were Aya Sachi Trebol, first; Christian Jacob Yap, second; Danica Anyah Baga, third; and Alexandra Gabrielle Rubica, fourth, in the elementary A; Christopher James Yap, Ysabela Beatrice Austria, Karina Isabela Aries, and Rimel Jan Cortez, were the top winners in elementary B while John Gabriel Uy, Janelle Oropel, Gemma Fe Oyos, and Antonio Raphael Co, were the first to fourth place winners in elementary C;

Elementary D winners were Kennsia Cherese Reynaldo, Danielle Anne Baga, Pio Alexis Sedonio, and Beatriz Mikaela Ermac.

Bianca Nicole Sabino, Albert Justin Lim, Chelah June Corpus, and Cresiene Parreño, were top winners in elementary E; Maria Julia Sy, were first; Ryan Joshua Sison, second, Timothy John Ureta, third, and Errika Carmela Uychiat, fourth, elementary F, the press release said.

First to fourth place were won by Esther Joy Au, Victorino Alcala II, Hazel Arabelle Javellana, and Francis Danielle Badilla, in the intermediate A; Dane Marie Debulgado, was first in intermediate B; Raphael Joseph Ledesma, first and Maria Rosarita Mesina, second, intermediate C while Robert Chong, was first; Loreane Novem Loriezo, second; and Maria Jessica Mesina, third, in the intermediate D, the press release added.*

back to top

Poetry reading set today

The 21st National Arts Month will be conducted by the Languages Department of the University of St. La Salle together with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts by holding Ars Poetica a Taboan, a poetry reading and literary forum at 4:30 p.m. today, a press release from USLS in Bacolod said.

The activity will be held at the Balay Kalinungan Lanai and will feature Fundador Tipon II, Chuvic Monserate, Hazel Atilano, Fatima Elli, Sally Agtoto, Jade Snow Dionzon, Jay Malaga, Jonathan Davila, Wanggo Gallaga, R. Torres-Pandan, Rene Hinojales, and Tanya Lopez.

Ars Poetica a Taboan, is funded by the NCCA, the press released added.*

back to top

‘The Angelos’
concert set Thursday

A concert, “An Evening of Spiritual Indulgence”, that aims to promote Negros pilgrimage shrines, will be held 7 p.m. Thursday at the Pavillon Hotel in Bacolod City, featuring the pop-tenor group “The Angelos”, a press release from organizers said.

The concert aims to attract the attention of people in the country and abroad to visit the various shrines of the Diocese of Bacolod, it added.

The Diocese has 10 shrines. The newest religious landmark, the Blessed John Paul II Tower that was blessed by the former Apostolic Nuncio to the Philippines Archbishop Edward Joseph Adams, is fast becoming a center for pilgrimage and a tourist attraction. Among the prized items in the JP II Tower is an alb of Pope John Paul II, the press release said.

Fr. Felix Pasquin, who is promoting the Blessed JP II Tower as a pilgrimage center, with the rectors of other Diocesan shrines, conceptualized a program to promote the spiritual growth of the faithful, not only of the Diocese but also those from other parts of the country, the press release said.

The rector, together with John Orola and friends from the travel and tourism industry, planned “The Angelos” concert.

The group is composed of George Sison-Tagle, its founder; Rei Paolo Libiran, and John Louie Abaigar.

They have performed in various venues, locally and abroad, including the River Rock Show Theater in Vancouver, Canada, where only two other Filipino artists, Jose Marie Chan and Lea Salonga.

Recognized as the country’s Young Ambassadors of Music by the National Commission on Culture and Arts, “The Angelos” is also a recipient of the Aliw Awards best group in concert category, and the SM Global Pinoy excellence award, the press release also said.

For concert tickets, those interested may contact Casa Orola, 433-0353; Travel Expert Center, 468-0092/707-8338; or the San Sebastian Rectory, 433-0261.*

back to top

UAP-Mt. Kanlaon
celebrates first year

The United Architects of the Philippines Mt. Kanla-on Chapter celebrated its First Charter Anniversary recently during the Area C Assembly at the Cebu Sports Plaza , Ayala Business District, Cebu City, during the General Membership Meeting and election of officers for the year 2012-2013, a press release from the UAP said.

A reenactment of the chartering ceremony by lighting of candles was led by Ramon de Leon, former District Director Moises Abellera, District C2 adviser Rialino Alisbo, and Gil Juesna , immediate past district C2 director .

Started in September 2010, the chapter was approved in December, 2010.

The new elected officers are, president – Felipe Jocson, vice -president for programs and development – Dominic Diocson, vice president for Operations –Salvador Salgado ,Secretary –Nilo de Oca , Treasurer –Rafael Guerrero auditor –Anthony Lim, directors Vincent Alovera, Rolly Gapulan, Ronnie Ayuban, Jico Monte, Hugo Flores, and Bethany Ibardolaza. Eric Santiago ,Election Committee representative for District C2, and officiated at the election proceedings.

The chapter has submitted almost 45 project reports to the national board, serving various sectors and held general membership gathering on the last year’s theme “Shifting Focus in Architecture: The Imperatives of Professional Practice”, the press release said.

UAP-MKL is the 129th professional organization of architects among the 132 chapters in the Philippines, based in Bacolod City.

The theme for this year is “UAP MK Informs, Reforms, Transforms with a thrust “Active Participation of Members”, the press release added.*

back to top

People & Events
Poetry reading set today
‘The Angelos’ concert set Thursday
UAP-Mt. Kanlaon celebrates first year

Email: visayandailystar@yahoo.com